Planning and Zoning Department
Board of Zoning Appeals

The Sussex County Board of Zoning Appeals consists of five citizens who are appointed by the Judge of the Circuit Court of Sussex County. The Board hears and decides requests for variances from specific requirements of the County's Zoning Ordinance. The Board also hears and decides appeals of decisions made by the Zoning Administrator in enforcing the provisions of the Zoning Ordinance.

(Updated August 2023)

Thomas W. Baicy, III

13138 Hardy Street, Post Office Box 272, Waverly VA 23890
Cell: 804.731.6598
Term expires: 01/31/2026

Leon C. Dillard

19361 Gray Road, Yale, VA 23897
Cell:  804.218.3072
Term expires:  01/31/2028

C. Tyrone Griffin

10310 Kelly Lane, Wakefield VA  23888
Cell:  757.556.1715
Term expires: 01/31/2025

Sonda Parham

919 W. Main Street, Waverly, VA 23890
Cell:  804.712.5428
Term expires:  01/31/2027

Gatewood “Lee” Simmons, Jr.

16108 Robinson Road, Waverly, VA 23890
Cell:  804.721.9466
Term expires:  01/31/2024

Agendas and Minutes > Schedule of Meeting Dates >

Home » County Departments » Planning and Zoning Department » Board of Zoning Appeals